Posted by: happyangelclub | 四月 19, 2010

Who care for her?? 92岁的拾荒长者-The story of a 92 year old scavenger.

By Jane Lim- 作者:林宝珠

On February 19th 2010, I received an e-mail concerning an appeal for assistance from a kind-hearted person, and was informed of the misfortune of a 92 year old lady.

Upon receiving the email, I wrote to the CDC, and received a quick response. Mr. Ng, a worker at the CDC promised me that he would send social workers to investigate and offer to this elderly person the necessary assistance. Upon hearing this, I was very relieved.  I told Mr. Ng at the time that we would separately follow our own procedures to visit the family of this lady, and then come together to discuss how to provide her with the most timely and effective assistance.

Usually after I have referred cases to the CDC, I will not interfere with their professional duties. This is because I believe in and respect their work, and I should not influence their duties. Only in the event of unusual circumstances will I step in.

On March 28th 2010, the kind-hearted person wrote to me again, and asked if the social worker had already provided the elderly lady with the requisite assistance. He said that he saw her picking cardboard off the streets like before,  and staring at food on coffeeshop tables with a starving look on her face.

As such, I decided to investigate further.

After I had repeatedly investigated and clarified matters, I confirmed that the kind-hearted person was telling the truth. After I have making inquiries again, and seeking to understand the situation from the elderly lady’s neighbours who knew her, I ascertained that the most pressing assistance that the service privder could render, was to provider her with three warm meals a day, so that she would not be up till the wee hours of the morning picking cardboard.

This frail 92 year old lady is staying with a 50 year old child, who has schizophrenia. She is already so old, but yet she plies the crowded streets of Singapore daily in search of cardboard to support herself. One day, she fainted on the road and was saved by the kind-hearted person and his friend. These two kind people stay near her, and when they see her in such a pitiful state each day, they will sometimes dig into their pockets to buy her some food to eat.

This case progressed very slowly, because complications arose in the process of handling the case. The biggest of these complications was that there was a huge difference between what the kind people, her neighbours, and myself observed, and the report made by the social workers. I witnessed this lady and her daughter arguing heatedly; I also thrice witnessed an elderly man (her neighbour) shed tears while confronting the daughter about her conduct. This schizophrenic child is like a bomb that can go off at any moment.

On the evening of April 17th, 2010, I brought rice, canned food, and dinner to this elderly person, and met her at the void deck. I saw that she held some cardboard in her hand, and I asked her why she didn’t use her hand trolley. She replied sadly to me that her hand trolley had been stolen by other people.

When I entered her house, I headed to the back of her kitchen and found that her refrigerator was spoilt. She said that she had no money to fix the refrigerator. When I opened the refrigerator, it only contained eggs. When I looked at her table, I saw that there was no food, and I asked her what she had eaten for lunch. She said that the church had given her food to eat. I next opened her rice cooker and a stench arose from the rice cooker. Ah! The rice cooker contained porridge that had gone bad! I asked her who had cooked it and when? She said that she had made it herself the day before.

Before this, her child had told me that she would cook for her mother every day. Before this, her neighbours had told me that this old lady was very pitiful and that they were afraid that she was being ill-treated…

Looking at this pot of porridge that had gone bad, and the apartment that was a state of disorder and without any food, my heart began to “go bad” as well. Who can really understand and help her?

Before I left, the old lady entreated me again to help her daughter find a job.

I thought to myself that mothers always love and protect their children, and are always concerned for them. Even if they do not have three meals to eat a day, their children’s welfare and security is even more important.

2010年2月19日,我接到一封好心人的求助电邮,告知关于一个90多岁长者的境遇。

当时,我马上电邮社理会,并得到快速的回复,社理会的职员黄先生向我承诺一定会派社工登门视察和给于这名长者必要的援助。我听后,很是放心,同时告诉洪先生,我们就分头以自己的方式拜访这个长者的家庭,然后再一起商讨如何给于她最及时和有效的帮助。

通常我转介个案给社理会之后,就不再干涉他们的专业运作。因为,我相信和尊重他们的专业,我是不应该影响他们的工作的。除非有特殊的状况出现,我才会再度介入。

2010年3月28日,好心人再度来函,问及社理会是否已经给与长者足够的帮助了?因为他每天依旧看到她在街上捡纸皮,依旧盯着咖啡店桌子上人家的食物,一幅好像很饥饿的样子。

我因此再度介入此案。

在我几次的探访和了解之后,确定了好心人在电邮中所述属实,再加上几次的突击探访,及向认识长者的邻居们了解实况后,我更加确定眼下最急迫的援助,是给与该长者每天三餐的温饱,让她无须为三餐而捡纸皮至三更半夜。

这名92岁的长者,身子瘦弱,和50岁患有精神分裂症的孩子同住。

她已经一大把年纪了,还是每天走在车水马龙的马路,到处去捡纸皮维生。有一次,她晕倒在路上,被好心人和他的朋友及时搭救。这两名好心人就住在她的附近,天天看到她如此辛苦,他们偶尔也会自掏腰包给她一点小钱买饭吃。

这个案子进展缓慢,因为间中出现了一些状况,最大的状况就是我和好心人及长者的邻居们所观察到的实况,和社理会职员及社工的报告有很大的分歧。我目睹这个孩子和老母亲赤红着脸起争执;目睹一名男性老邻居谈及这个长者的家事时,在我面前三次落泪并当面与那个孩子对质。这个患有精神病症的孩子,仿佛就像一颗定时炸弹。

2010年4月17日傍晚,我带了米粮、罐头和晚餐给这名长者,在楼下巧遇她,看她用手拿着一些纸皮,我问她为什么没有用手推车?她一脸苦楚告诉我,她的手推车被人偷走了。

进了她的屋子后,我到厨房看看,发现她的冰箱坏了,她说没有钱修理,里头只有鸡蛋。再看看她的桌上,没有食物,我问她今天午餐吃什么?她说今天教堂有给她饭吃。接着,我打开她的饭锅,一股浓浓扑鼻的酸味扑向我。啊!那是发酸了的粥!我问她那是谁煮的?什么时候煮的?她说是她自己煮的,是昨天煮的。

之前,她的孩子告诉我,她每天都有煮给妈妈吃;之前,好心人和邻居告诉我,这个老妈妈很可怜,恐怕被虐待了。。。。。。。

看着这一小窝发酸发臭的粥,看着杂乱而没有食物的屋子,我内心跟着发酸。谁能真正了解和帮助她啊?

发表评论

分类

