Posted by: happyangelclub | 四月 21, 2013

20-4-2013-结霜桥跳蚤市场 Sungei Road flea market (1)

photo(1)-2NDHand goods market-1

Although sometimes they earned only S$50 for the entire month, these hawkers still wish to carry on.

77-years old Uncle Feng and his 40-years old son started operating as a street hawker in Sungei Road area 40 years ago.

Uncle Feng expressed his sadness for not being able to carry on as a street hawker in Sungei Road area soon.

“ I have 2 sons and 2 daughter. The two daughters were married. One of my sons helped me with my street hawker operations while the other one is a odd-job worker. ”

He said that business is tough in the flea market. Sometimes not even a single cent was earned for several days. Especially during rainy seasons, all they could earn was S$50 for the entire month.

But he said “ at least we still have our stall for now, I can’t imagine how to survive without it in the future. “

( 晚报:15-4-2013 / Translated by Francis Goh )

photo(2)-2NDHand goods market-1

( 晚报:15-4-2013 )

===============================================================

今天,带了善心人的米粮和祝福的红包,到结霜桥跳蚤市场,找到了77岁的冯老伯和其他三位年纪较大的长者,把祝福传递了给他们.

打从心里佩服这些长者们刻苦耐劳的毅力,那么多年来,在艳阳下,在风雨中,自食其力,从不退缩.即使月赚50元, 冯老伯还是想做下去,对于结霜桥即将关闭或搬迁, 他感到很难过,不知怎么办?

结霜桥,已经是摊贩们的命脉, 关闭结霜桥,等于切断了摊贩们的命脉.在我们这个高度发展的社会,还能继续让这些摊贩们拥有一片谋生的空间吗?

看到这篇文章的读者们,如果你有所感动,如果你想带着家人和祝福的红包,到结霜桥走一走,把红包送给你想送的摊贩们,那么,请行动吧!

又或许你想把这篇文章转给更多人看,让更多人有机会到结霜桥传递祝福,那么,也请行动吧!

传递祝福,由我们每一个人开始.

感谢大家,也祝福大家.

By 林宝珠(Jane Lim) / 20-4-2013

I brought some rice/food donated by kind-hearted persons and red packets with blessings to the Sungei Road flea market today. I found a 77-year-old Uncle Feng and three other elderly persons there. I conveyed my blessings to them.

I truly admire these elderly from the bottom of my heart for their hard work and perseverance all these years to earn a living under the hot sun and in the rain. Despite the fact that they could only earn as little as $50 a month, uncle Feng still wishes to carry on. He feels very sad and lost as Sungei Road will soon be shut down or relocated.

Sungei Road is the lifeblood of street hawkers. Closing down Sungei Road is equivalent to cutting off the lifeblood of these street hawkers. Will there still be space for these street hawkers to make a living in our highly developed society?

Readers who have read this article and are touched, if you wish to bring your family members and red packets of blessings to Sungei Road, please make a move!

Or if you wish to forward this article to others so as to let more people have a chance to also convey their blessings, please just do it!

Conveying blessings begin with each of us.

Thank you and bless you.

By 林宝珠(Jane Lim) / 20-4-2013

Translated by Francis Goh

Responses

  1. FB201305/0198: mail from jane: urge NEA to give a place to the hawkers of sungei road flea market.

    REACH (REACH)Message :
    Dear Ms Lim, Thank you for your email. We have shared your feedback with the National Environment Agency [NEA] for their information and review. Best regards,
     REACH

  2. I can definitely see your expertise in the article you write.
    The world hopes for more passionate writers such as you
    who are not afraid to say how they believe. All the time follow your heart.

    • Thank you.

  3. I do believe all the concepts you have offered in your post.
    They’re really convincing and can certainly work. Nonetheless, the posts are too quick for newbies. May you please lengthen them a little from next time? Thank you for the post.

  4. Your report features confirmed helpful to me. It’s
    extremely useful and you’re simply certainly very experienced in this region. You have got popped my personal eye to be able to various views on this subject matter along with intriquing, notable and strong content.

  5. Dear All,

    Thank you for your support and comments. Greatly appreciated it.

  6. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new
    to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back often!

    • Thank you.

  7. Great website you have here but I was curious if you knew of any discussion boards that
    cover the same topics talked about in this article?

    I’d really like to be a part of group where I can get suggestions from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Thanks!

    • I do not know of any specific forum that discuss my topics.I have just posted the articles on my own blog to create awareness. Readers of my blog are welcome to repost them elsewhere for discussion.

      Thank you very much.

  8. Hi excellent website! Does running a blog similar to this require a lot of
    work? I’ve virtually no expertise in programming but I was hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyways, should you have any recommendations or techniques for new blog owners please share. I know this is off subject nevertheless I just wanted to ask. Thanks a lot!


发表评论

分类

